Raw Apple Cake

2

March 21, 2012 by agmullen

Today’s recipe is brought to you by, you guessed it, my mom. I have no idea where she got this recipe from, but it’s a Garland family traditional. I remember her making it for one of my dad’s birthdays, and of course I snagged the recipe when going through her files.

However, my other joy in cooking is being able to change and/or ignore recipes. So I did make a few alterations, hopefully to make it a little more healthful. (You might not be able to tell that it’s more healthful . . .) It is still extremely tasty.

Raw apple cake

Raw Apple Cake

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 c. granulated white sugar
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 c. flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 c. coarsely chopped apples
  • 1 c. raisins
  • 1 c. nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix applesauce, oil, and sugars together (with a whisk or a mixer). Add eggs and mix well. Add flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and vanilla; mix until ingredients are incorporated.  Fold in apples, raisins, and nuts.

Pour into greased and floured (or non-stick) tube pan; bake at 350 for 75-90 minutes. (This cake is super-moist so it’s hard to tell when it’s done–but it’s good just slightly underdone anyway. 🙂

The mix of brown and white sugars makes the taste slightly caramelly–if you’d rather have less caramelly, then use all white sugar.

This cake is awesome warm, or room-temperature . . . or cold . . . or any temperature. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, after-dinner snack . . . or anytime . . .

2 thoughts on “Raw Apple Cake

  1. Melanie says:

    It’s even better with frosting. The last couple times I’ve made it I’ve put a vanilla glaze on it. Of course frosting makes it even more unhealthy for you.

    • agmullen says:

      Oy! I think a glaze might make it too much for me to handle! 🙂 You should try the brown sugar substitution and see what you think. It’s definitely a different taste.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other subscribers